Last year’s winner Larry ten Voorde scores pole position in Monaco

Last year’s winner Larry ten Voorde scores pole position in Monaco

The reigning champion Larry ten Voorde has delivered an exceptional performance at round two of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup in Monte Carlo (Monaco): Driving for the GP Elite team, the Dutchman won the race on the legendary Formula 1 racetrack with a lead of almost five seconds.


The decision for the second grid spot, however, went down to the wire: after 17 laps, the French Martinet by Alméras driver Dorian Boccolacci crossed the finish line less than half a second ahead of the German Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich from the SSR Huber Racing squad. Clinching his second Monaco victory in two years, ten Voorde replaces Dylan Pereira (BWT Lechner Racing) at the top of the overall rankings. The Luxembourger came fourth ahead of his British teammate Harry King.

“It looked easy but it wasn’t – I had to stay completely focussed over the entire distance and try to drive as clean a line as possible,” said Larry ten Voorde. The Dutchman now faces other problems – with the obligatory participation at the organiser’s official winner’s gala. “I have to find a black suit. I thought it might have been a bad omen so I didn’t bring one.”

Dorian Boccolacci was more than happy with his second place. Putting in a flawless drive, he managed to fend off attacks from Laurin Heinrich. “Last year I came third in Monaco, now second. So next year I should be able to win,” laughed the Frenchman.

Only the start got a bit tight for Boccolacci. “I almost overtook Dorian in the sprint to the first corner and I pulled alongside, but I would’ve had to drive on the dirty side of the track approaching the Casino and I didn’t want to take that risk,” stated Laurin Heinrich describing the critical moment. The 20-year-old from Germany held back and subsequently had no other decent chances to overtake.

Bastian Buus as fastet rookie

As the fastest rookie, Bastian Buus crossed the finish line in ninth. With this result, the BWT Lechner Racing driver from Denmark celebrated his second win in the category for Supercup newcomers. Also for the second time in a row, the winner’s trophy in the ProAm class went to Norway’s Roar Lindland from the Pierre Martinet by Alméras team.

“I’m impressed with the discipline that the Supercup drivers have used to master the challenges of this difficult track. No one made any rash overtaking moves. And the front runners, in particular, didn’t make the slightest mistake,” concluded Oliver Schwab, Project Manager Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. Only one slide immediately after the start resulted in a brief safety car phase while marshals checked the crash barrier where the incident had occurred.

The next round of the international one-make cup with the ca. 375 kW (510 PS) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup will be held on another storied racetrack: the Formula 1 circuit in Britain’s Silverstone from 1 to 3 July 2022.

Result race 2 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Monte Carlo (MC)

  1. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team GP Elite), 28:30.987 minutes
  2. Dorian Boccolacci (F/Martinet by Alméras), + 4.647 seconds
  3. Laurin Heinrich (D/SSR Huber Racing), + 5.105 seconds
  4. Dylan Pereira (L/BWT Lechner Racing), + 5.630 seconds
  5. Harry King (GB/BWT Lechner Racing), + 6.330 seconds
  6. Michael Ammermüller (D/SSR Huber Racing), + 13.084 seconds

Standings 2022 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup (after 2 of 8 races)

  1. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team GP Elite), 45 points
  2. Dylan Pereira (L/BWT Lechner Racing), 39 points
  3. Laurin Heinrich (D/SSR Huber Racing), 31 points
  4. Dorian Boccolacci (F/Martinet by Alméras), 30 points
  5. Harry King (GB/BWT Lechner Racing), 29 points

Full race result and overall standings:


2022 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup calendar (subject to change)

22 – 24 April, Imola (Italy)

26 – 29 May, Monte Carlo (Monaco)

01 – 03 July, Silverstone (Great Britain)

08 – 10 July, Spielberg (Austria)

22 – 24 July, Le Castellet (France)

26 – 28 August, Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)

02 – 04 September, Zandvoort (Netherlands)

09 – 11 September, Monza (Italy)



Source: René Staud