PCCD: Season kicks off with 32 drivers and a new TV partner

PCCD: Season kicks off with 32 drivers and a new TV partner

The long wait is over for Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland (PCCD) fans: from 5 to 7 May, the Porsche one-make cup heads into its 33rd season on the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium).

The preview

The doubleheader event run as part of the FIA World Endurance Championship WEC support programme promises to be a spectacular start to the season. With a total of 32 drivers in their Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, the grid is at capacity. Fans can watch the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland live on the German free TV station NITRO. RTL Deutschland joins the series this year as the new TV partner.

“A packed grid and 16 races in five countries provide the perfect ingredients for a thrilling season,” says Hurui Issak, Project Manager of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. “The pre-season test at the Nürburgring underlined how competitive it is at the top. We welcome NITRO as our new TV partner, who has already demonstrated its motor racing expertise with the live broadcasts of the ADAC GT Masters and the Nürburgring 24-hour race.” After the opening round at Spa-Francorchamps, the action continues until October with six events alongside the ADAC GT Masters and one with the DTM.

Defending champion Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) is on the hunt for records this year. In 2020 and 2021, the Dutchman claimed the championship title – no other driver has won three titles in more than 30 years of the one-make cup. However, he faces stiff opposition, particularly from Porsche-Junior Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), the 2021 winner of the rookie title, Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon) and Britain‘s Lorcan Hanafin (Fach Auto Tech), the vice-champion of the Porsche Carrera Cup Great Britain. The youngsters will come up against two experienced competitors: Dylan Pereira (IronForce Racing by Phoenix) from Luxembourg made his Carrera Cup debut in 2016 and last year contested the ADAC GT Masters and the FIA WEC, among others. Michael Ammermüller (Germany/SSR Huber Racing), the three-time overall winner of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup (2017-2019) and 2020 champion of the ADAC GT Masters, celebrates his Carrera Cup comeback.

In addition to the driver’s classification, racers also chase points and prize money in the rookie and ProAm classes. Eight talented youngsters from five countries fight for honours in the rookie classification. 21-year-old Ariel Levi (Huber Racing) is the first driver from Israel to contest the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. For Carlos Rivas (Black Falcon), 2022 marks his sixth season. In the last three years, the Luxembourger won the ProAm title and is keen to extend his record of the most race victories (39 wins) in his category.

Fans can again follow the race action of this year’s Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on German free TV. The television channel NITRO broadcasts all races of the ADAC GT Masters weekends live and complements the races with extensive preliminary reports. The races are aired on Saturdays and Sundays straight after the GT3 series from 2.30 pm. All 16 races can be seen live or viewed on-demand afterwards on RTL+, Germany’s leading streaming platform. Moreover, the news channel ntv offers a glimpse behind the scenes of the racing series in five episodes of “PS – Porsche Carrera Cup“. All rounds will also be streamed live on the Porsche Carrera Cup Youtube channels and the Porsche Motorsport Hub.

Teams and drivers can expect an exciting doubleheader event. Measuring 7.004 kilometres, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps is the longest circuit on this year’s calendar. The storied racetrack in Belgium’s Ardennes region is made up of long straights and spectacular corners such as the famous Raidillon/Eau Rouge and Blanchimont passages as well as the La Source hairpin. The first Carrera Cup race of the new season gets underway this Friday at 5.20 pm local time. Race two starts on Saturday at 10.55 am and will be televised live by NITRO.

2022 entry list Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland

#2 Georgi Donchev (Bulgaria/Huber Racing)

#3 Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)

#4 Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon)

#5 Sören Spreng (Germany/Black Falcon)

#6 Carlos Rivas (Luxembourg/Black Falcon)

#7 Christof Langer (Germany/Fach Auto Tech)

#8 Alexander Fach (Switzerland/Fach Auto Tech)

#9 Lorcan Hanafin (Great Britain/Fach Auto Tech)

#13 Alexander Tauscher (Germany/Allied-Racing)

#14 Morris Schuring (Netherlands/SSR Huber Racing)

#20 Harald Proczyk (Austria/HP Racing International)

#23 Lukas Ertl (Germany/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)

#24 Max van Splunteren (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)

#25 Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)

#26 Jesse van Kuijk (Netherlands/GP Elite)

#27 Daan van Kuijk (Netherlands/GP Elite)

#28 Lucas Groeneveld (Netherlands/GP Elite)

#29 Huub van Eijndhoven (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)

#31 Sebastian Freymuth (Germany/HRT Performance)

#40 Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/ID Racing)

#44 Jonas Greif (Germany/ID Racing)

#57 Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/Huber Racing)

#69 Holger Harmsen (Germany/HRT Motorsport)

#75 Ariel Levi (Israel/Huber Racing)

#84 Ahmad Alshehab (Kuwait/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)

#92 Michael Ammermüller (Germany/SSR Huber Racing)

#94 Dylan Pereira (Luxembourg/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)

#95 Richard Wagner (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)

#96 Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/IronForce Racing by Phoenix)

#98 Jan Seyffert (Germany/HP Racing International)

#99 Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)

tba (HRT Performance)

2022 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland racing calendar

11.04-12.04.2022: Nürburgring (Test and media day)

05.05-07.05.2022: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (FIA WEC), Races 1+2

20.05-22.05.2022: Red Bull Ring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 3+4

17.06-19.06.2022: Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari Imola (DTM), Races 5+6

24.06-26.06.2022: Circuit Zandvoort (ADAC GT Masters), Races 7+8

05.08-07.08.2022: Nürburgring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 9+10

19.08-21.08.2022: Lausitzring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 11+12

23.09-25.09.2022: Sachsenring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 13+14

21.10-23.10.2022: Hockenheim (ADAC GT Masters), Races 15+16



Source: René Staud